The Four Pillars of The American Legion

n 1919, the American Legion was established with a simple mission of four duties that form the four pillars upon which all of our programs rest. It’s who and what we are–The American Legion. The Four Pillars are:

I. Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation
 • VA Claims Backlog • Access to VA Health Care • Network of Service Officers • VA Vet Centers • Health-care Funding Formula • Veterans with Special Needs • Volunteering • Final Respects • Heroes to Hometowns • Careers for Veterans • Homelessness • GI Bill Benefits

 II. National Security
• Support for the Troops • Size of the Armed Forces • Quality of Life • Homeland Security • POW/MIAs • Operation Comfort Warriors

III. Americanism
• Flag Protection • Illegal Immigration • Voter Registration and Participation • Boy Scouts of America • The Pledge of Allegiance • Establishment-Clause Lawsuits • Legacy Run • Boys Nation • American Legion Baseball

IV. Children & Youth
• Child Pornography • Catastrophic Illness • Intellectual Disabilities • Immunization • Family Integrity • Media Violence • Drug Abuse • Child Sexual Exploitation • Family Support Network • Temporary Financial Assistance • Samsung Scholarship • Child Welfare Foundation

How do we put all four pillars into motion? Watch this video, then contact us. If you are a veteran (having served at least one day on ACTIVE DUTY), you can join us and help us with The Four Pillars.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email